Daily Readings

Click here for Daily Readings


  • DAILY BIBLE READINGS

Thursday, December 1, 2022: Psalm 72:1-7, 18-19; Isaiah 4:2-6; Acts 1:12-17, 21-26
Friday, December 2, 2022: Psalm 72:1-7, 18-19; Isaiah 30:19-26; Acts 13:16-25
Saturday, December 3, 2022: Psalm 72:1-7, 18-19; Isaiah 40:1-11; John 1:19-28
Sunday, December 4, 2022: Second Sunday of Advent
Isaiah 11:1-10; Psalm 72:1-7, 18-19; Romans 15:4-13; Matthew 3:1-12
Monday, December 5, 2022: Psalm 21; Isaiah 24:1-16a; 1 Thessalonians 4:1-12
Tuesday, December 6, 2022: Psalm 21; Isaiah 41:14-20; Romans 15:14-21
Wednesday, December 7, 2022: Psalm 21; Genesis 15:1-18; Matthew 12:33-37
Thursday, December 8, 2022: Psalm 146:5-10; Ruth 1:6-18; 2 Peter 3:1-10
Friday, December 9, 2022: Psalm 146:5-10; Ruth 4:13-17; 2 Peter 3:11-18
Saturday, December 10, 2022: Psalm 146:5-10; 1 Samuel 2:1-8; Luke 3:1-18
Sunday, December 11, 2022: Third Sunday of Advent
Isaiah 35:1-10; Psalm 146:5-10; Luke 1:46b-55; James 5:7-10; Matthew 11:2-11
Monday, December 12, 2022: Psalm 42; Isaiah 29:17-24; Acts 5:12-16
Tuesday, December 13, 2022: Psalm 42; Ezekiel 47:1-12; Jude 1:17-25
Wednesday, December 14, 2022: Psalm 42; Zechariah 8:1-17; Matthew 8:14-17, 28-34
Thursday, December 15, 2022: Psalm 80:1-7, 17-19; 2 Samuel 7:1-17; Galatians 3:23-29
Friday, December 16, 2022: Psalm 80:1-7, 17-19; 2 Samuel 7:18-22; Galatians 4:1-7
Saturday, December 17, 2022: Psalm 80:1-7, 17-19; 2 Samuel 7:23-29; John 3:31-36
Sunday, December 18, 2022: Fourth Sunday of Advent
Isaiah 7:10-16; Psalm 80:1-7, 17-19; Romans 1:1-7; Matthew 1:18-25
Monday, December 19, 2022: 1 Samuel 2:1-10; Genesis 17:15-22; Galatians 4:8-20
Tuesday, December 20, 2022: 1 Samuel 2:1-10; Genesis 21:1-21; Galatians 4:21-5:1
Wednesday, December 21, 2022: 1 Samuel 2:1-10; Genesis 37:2-11; Matthew 1:1-17
Thursday, December 22, 2022: Luke 1:46b-55; Isaiah 33:17-22; Revelation 22:6-7, 18-20
Friday, December 23, 2022: Luke 1:46b-55; 2 Samuel 7:18, 23-29; Galatians 3:6-14
Saturday, December 24 & 25, 2022: Nativity of the Lord – Proper I
Isaiah 9:2-7; Psalm 96; Titus 2:11-14; Luke 2:1-14, (15-20)
Saturday, December 24 & 25, 2022: Nativity of the Lord – Proper II
Isaiah 62:6-12; Psalm 97; Titus 3:4-7; Luke 2:(1-7), 8-20
Saturday, December 24 & 25, 2022: Nativity of the Lord – Proper III
Isaiah 52:7-10; Psalm 98; Hebrews 1:1-4, (5-12); John 1:1-14
Monday, December 26, 2022: Psalm 148; Wisdom 4:7-15; Acts 7:59-8:8
Tuesday, December 27, 2022: Psalm 148; Proverbs 8:22-31; 1 John 5:1-12
Wednesday, December 28, 2022: Psalm 148; Isaiah 49:13-23; Matthew 18:1-14
Thursday, December 29, 2022: Psalm 20; Jeremiah 31:15-22; Luke 19:41-44
Friday, December 30, 2022: Psalm 20; Isaiah 26:1-9; 2 Corinthians 4:16-18
Saturday, December 31, 2022: Psalm 20; 1 Kings 3:5-14; John 8:12-19


DAILY BIBLE READINGS SEPTEMBER 2022
CLICK on the first reading
to access the daily verses on the Vanderbilt Lectionary website
for the Daily Bible readings

One Comment

  1. A Greek Word For Your Mind: koinonia (Fellowship)
    The word koinonia belongs to a large family of words, occurring some 66
    times in different forms in the New Testament, with a root meaning “to
    have in common” (koinos). It has become part of our everyday English
    language in the word “coin”, i.e. what is a commonly accepted currency.
    We are probably most familiar with the word from its use in Acts 2:42
    where the early Christians devoted themselves to the Apostles’ teaching,
    and to “the fellowship” (koinonia). This “fellowship” is further defined in
    v.44 where we read that they held all things in common (koina), sharing
    their very belongings with one another. There is an interesting historical
    precedent for this practice from a community in Lipara (1st Century BCE),
    who “made their possessions common property and lived according to the
    custom of common meals”1 The concept of fellowship, then, was much
    more than simply a sharing of one’s beliefs or a common sense of belonging:
    it actually expressed itself in practical, concrete action by sharing of
    material goods and meals. In this sense it is often used to describe
    distribution or sharing (verb, koinoneo, see Rom. 12:13).
    The Apostle Paul, writing to the Philippians, appeals to the common bond
    he has with them in the gospel (koinonia 1:5, 2:1). This common bond,
    however, runs quite deep, for it involves a participation or sharing in the
    very sufferings of Christ (Phil 3:10, 2 Cor. 1:7, 1 Pet. 4:13). When
    Christians participate together in the Lord’s Supper, we are actually
    identifying ourselves with the sufferings of the crucified Christ, by
    participation (koinonia) in his broken body and shed blood (1 Cor. 10:16).
    This represents the very heart of our Christian discipleship, so much so that
    Peter claims we have become “partakers or sharers (koinonoi) of the divine
    nature” (2 Pet. 1:4). Now that is mind blowing!
    There is one further unusual usage of koinoo, often translated in the KJV
    as “defiles” (see Matt 15:11, 18 c.f. Mark 7:20, Acts 21:28). In these
    instances “defilement” means to make something common, or reduce its
    true value (translated as “unholy” in Acts 10:15). I wonder how often we
    have devalued holy things as “common”?
    Essentially, we are one in shared faith, respecting our various differences,
    but united together in the love of Christ our Lord.
    Rev Graham Warne

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *